A Horse, A Horse, Get Me A Horse To Get Me To The Globe!

On the Anniversary of his death I thought this review of the Globes Richard III was worth reblogging

Laura Brennan, A Historian

Richard III

I confess I am a serial return visitor to the Globe in London. I always try and go once a season. This year I really wanted to catch Twelfth Night with Stephen Fry but that was all sold out. So instead I booked tickets to see Richard III and I have to say I am so pleased that I got the tickets as I can honestly say that Richard III is the best Shakespearian play I have seen at the Globe.
 
I did not realise what a wordy play was for the principle playing Richard. With the exception of 2 scenes and the last where he is dead on the floor Richard is on stage for all or most of the Play.
 
Our Richard was played by Mark Rylance. His depiction of Shakespeare’s controversial Richard was excellent. One doesn’t necessarily expect a history play to be humorous…

View original post 274 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

