Sicily in Bloomsbury

In the Court at Britsh Museum


One of the current exhibitions on at the British museum at the moment is “Sicily Culture and Conquest”. 
The southern Italian island has been on my must visit list for a while, especially as my interest has been heightened by Georgio Loccatelli and Andrew Graham Dixon’s food and art odessy and via Montalbano novels and series. 
What most people think of when you mention this small island is the gangster culture of Mafia (sadly still active today). But due to her location in the Med she was highly sort by the various empires of the past including Romans (whos legacy is stunning) arabs who left their mark on the food of the island, and the Normans. 

Roman battering ram from a ship – Image not mine


It is these visitors and how they have left their mark on Sicily that this exhibition focuses on. 
The exhibition is well laid out in space above what was the old reading room. It offers detailed information and is well labeled. 
This is not how ever a large exhibition. I was lucky to see this show as the guest of a member – as an art fund member I would have got in half price. I am not sure I would have been happy if I had paid full price. 

my favourite exhibit Image not mine


There are some beautiful pieces in the exhibition the ceiling near the end of the exhibition that recreated the basilicas ceiling was fabulous, as was the small temple that was a grave marker, the jewerelly was stunning and it fascinates me how earlier civilisations managed to produce such items with very primitive tools. My favourite exhibit was a red and gold ceremonial cape it was arresting and beautiful. 
The exit gift shop was well stocked and if I hadn’t banned myself from buying more cloth bags I probably would have owned another. 
All in all the exhibition is small but what is on show is well curated and exhibited, I maybe just spoilt as we have access to so much in London gratis so when we do need to pay I expect ore bang for my buck. 
The exhibition is on until 16th August 2016 – tickets available to book online and at box office.

This entry was posted in Archaeology, Art, culture, Exhibitions, History, Religion, Review, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

